The Management Team and Principle Researchers

Dr. Kang Hooi Siang
Director of Marine Technology Centre

Research Area

  • Deepwater riser engineering
  • Computational hull-riser-mooring lines coupled dynamics
  • SMART magneto-rheological technology in offshore systems

Prof. Dr. Omar Yaakob
Principal Researchers of MTC

Research Area

Renewable Energy
Vertical axis marine current turbine
Wave energy convertor

Mitigating the Effects of Marine Activities of the Environment
Marine pollution
Air pollution from ships
Invasion of alien species through ballast water
Noise pollution
Bank erosion due to ship waves

Prof. Ir. Dr. Ab Saman Abdul Kadir, P.Eng 
Principal Researchers of MTC

Research Area

  • Port and shipping technology
  • Inland waterways transport system
  • Maritime law
  • Maritime safety and environment

Prof. Dr. Adi Maimun Abdul Malik
Principal Researchers of MTC

Research Area

  • Riser VIV reduction
  • Ship-Bank interaction effects
  • Resistance, propulsion, seakeeping, maneuvering
  • Vortex induced vibration (VIV) & motion (VIM)
  • Offshore mooring system
  • Special craft performance
  • Collision risk assessment using AIS data
  • Wave buoy for wave height measurement

Associate Researchers​

Mr. Nasrudin Ismail, MSc.

Expertise: Marine Engineering

Associate Prof. Dr. Mohd. Zamani Ahmad

Expertise: Nautical & Maritime Studies

Mr. Yahya Samian, MSc.

Expertise: Naval Architecture & Ship Production

Dr. Nik Mohd Ridzuan Shaharuddin

Expertise: Vortex Induced Vibration, Active Control

Dr. Farah Ellyza binti Hashim

Expertise: Renewable Energy

Dr. Arifah binti Ali

Expertise: Computation Fluid Dynamic, Ship Resistance and Propulsion


Dr. Siow Chee Loon

Expertise: Marine IoT and Database

Research Officer

Mr. Mohammad Nabil Bin Jainal

Technical Staff

Mr. Mohd Nazmi bin Ismail
Mr. Mohamed Azlan bin Arip
Mr. Mohd Razef bin Tarimin
Mr. Ismail bin Abdul Shukor
Mr. Mohd Haidi bin Samsuri
Mr. Mohd Zul Azali bin Zulkepli
Mr. Mohd Edzskandar bin Kamaruzman

Administration Staff

Ms. Nur Sabrina Mohd Zin
Mr. Zakaria Hasan